Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Review Tour: Where Promises Die by RC Stephens

Title: Where Promises Die
Author: R.C. Stephens
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 20, 2017
Haunted by a childhood trauma that leaves her orphaned, eleven-year-old Grace finds herself on the doorstep of the Duncans, her new adoptive family, broken and unable to speak. Catapulted from a bustling New York City life, she must find a way to call the rural town of Sade, Iowa her new home. Twins Eisav and Jacob Duncan immediately take a liking to Grace, wanting to erase the dark shadows etched on her perfect features.

As the twins vie for her affection, it becomes clear which one makes her smile.
Grace never has a choice for falling in love.
What starts as a way to coax his adopted sister to speak and smile, blossoms into the kind of love that lasts a lifetime.
In this small town it shouldn’t be a crime to fall in love . . . 
Isaac Duncan warns his son to stay away from the forbidden fruit. Eisav never listens. 
Now an intricate web of lies and secrets stand in the way of Eisav winning back the only woman he has ever loved.
In a place where yesterday’s promises were broken, Eisav must learn what it truly means to love and cherish . . .
But is he too late?

R.C. Stephens was born in Toronto, Canada. She graduated from York University with a Master's Degree in Political Science. Her debut Novel Bitter Sweet Love is book one of the Twisted Series. Followed by Twisted Love to be released May 31st 2015. R.C. is an avid reader, so when she isn't cooking for her clan or on her laptop writing, she's snuggled tight with her Kindle devouring any romance novel she can. Okay, with the exception of Thursday nights. She makes time for Scandal and Vampire Diaries. She's a fan of drama and suspense but she's also a sucker for a happy ending. Her husband was her first teenage love. They live together with their three children in Toronto. Loving Canadian winters she could never think of living anywhere else.

3.5 out of 5 Sexy Heels

I am always a sucker for a second chance romance and I was very intrigued by the blurb, so I decided to check it out.

I had a hard time through first part of the book…between wanting to throat punch the Isaac for the way he treats his children and seeing all the damage he has caused his children through his strict religious rules. But through all that heartache I found myself quickly rapped up into Eisav and Grace’s budding relationship that goes from friendship to love despite all else. My heart broke when Eisav was banished by his father and forced to leave Grace behind.

The second part of the book definitely picked up the pace and I found myself really enjoying all the twists and turns in this story. This part takes you through where Eisav’s life has taken him and the feelings he has about leaving Grace behind. It isn’t until his Mother contacts him about his Father passing away that he finally comes back home…but what is uncovered is almost too much to handle. Lies, deceit and secrets are finally revealed and Grace has moved on…maybe…you’ll have to check out this book to find out all what happens.

While this book is a standalone and a HEA…I found myself wanting more and feeling like things are somewhat unfinished.

****This ARC was provide in exchange for my honest opinion***  



No comments:

Post a Comment